How to Avoid Gluten

How to Avoid gluten

When looking at an ingredient list, it would be so easy if it said “This item contains gluten!” Unfortunately, that is not always the case. You need to do your research and gain the knowledge to know exactly what you should be looking for in order to keep yourself safe and free of gluten.

Gluten is in many staple items and ingredients, many of which you wouldn’t even think of because gluten is not just found in wheat. Wheat-free items can still contain gluten because it is also found in barley and rye and can be referred to by different names. We have provided a list for you of many of the items and names to be aware of so you know what to avoid and be careful of.

Some Items To Avoid:

  • White flour
  • Whole wheat flour
  • Durum wheat
  • Graham flour
  • Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)
  • Wheat starch
  • Wheat bran
  • Wheat germ
  • Couscous
  • Cracked wheat
  • Durum
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Farina
  • Faro
  • Fu (common in asian foods)
  • Gliadin
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut
  • Matzo
  • Malt
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Barley
  • Barley malt
  • Bulgur
  • Oats (oats themselves don’t contain gluten but can be grown in fields or processed in plants that produce gluten-containing grains causing the oats to become contaminated)
  • Rye
  • Seitan
  • Mir

Item To Be Aware Of:

Gluten may also be present in the following items so always double check the labels or call the manufacturer if you are not sure!

  • Chicken broth
  • Malt vinegar
  • Salad dressings
  • Veggie burgers (if not specified gluten-free)
  • Soy sauce
  • Teriyaki Sauce
  • Ponzu Sauce
  • Seasonings and spices (anti-caking agents can contain gluten)
  • Gravy
  • Beer and some spirits
  • Broth in soups
  • Bouillon cubes
  • Breadcrumbs and croutons
  • Some candies
  • Fried foods (can be a breaded coating or oil cross contamination)
  • Imitation fish
  • Some brands of lunch meats
  • Hot dogs
  • Modified food starch
  • Seasoned chips and other seasoned snack foods
  • Self-basting turkey
  • Seasoned rice and pasta mixes
  • Sauce Mixes
  • Medications- pills and syrups
  • Mouthwash
  • Toothpaste

For a complete list of unsafe foods and ingredients to avoid, please visit the celiac.com website HERE

For a list of SAFE gluten free foods and ingredients from celiac.com VISIT HERE

(We promise- this list is longer than the ‘unsafe’ list!!)